On The Road

Ok everyone, here we go. Two discs, roughly 55 minutes each. We've spent the last two mornings listening to the whole mix from front to back, and I think it's going to be one that stays in some car stereos (or on some iPod's) for a while. The entire project has been zipped up (178mb!) and uploaded to a free file-sharing site. Let me know if anyone has trouble with the download. And once you download it, make sure to check out the album art. Emily did an amazing job putting it together, and I think if anyone burns it to a cd it would behoove them to print it out as well. And finally- no, not all of these songs were obtained with legal license from the artists. If you find something you like here from a band you've never heard of, The Mix Tape Club strongly endorses that you seek out their music in a socially responsible manner. But whatever, I'm a hypocrite. Enough rambling.

I've taken the download link since most people have it. If you didn't give it, ask and I'll email the link!

We chose not to include contributor names along with songs (to keep it from becoming a contest, and to keep the guilty pleasures in) so if you REALLY must know who contributed a song, just ask Emily or I. Without further ado...the track listing:

Disc One:

  1. Johnny Cash: I've Been Everywhere
  2.  Hot Chocolate: Every 1’s a Winner 
  3.  Trampled By Turtles: Empire
  4.  Vetiver: Blue Driver
  5.  We Are Scientists: After Hours
  6.  Cee Lo Green: Satisfied
  7.  Pixies: Head On 
  8.  Camera Obscura: Let’s get out of this country
  9.  Blank Tapes: Landfair
  10. Herbie Hancock: Watermelon Man
  11. The National: 90-Mile Water Wall 
  12. LCD Soundsystem: Home
  13. Wye Oak: Civilian

Disc Two:  

  1. Billy Bragg & Wilco: Airline To Heaven
  2. Marvin Gaye: Got To Give It Up
  3. Chris Thile: Brakeman’s Blues
  4. Jimmy Eat World: Blister
  5. Radiohead: Weird Fishes/Arpeggi 
  6. Hayden: Dynamite Walls
  7. Devil Makes Three: Old Number Seven
  8. Lyrics Born: The Bay 
  9. Operation Ivy: Sound System
  10. Curtis Mayfield: Move On Up 
  11. Allman Brothers Band: Midnight Rider
  12. Mirah: Cold Cold Water



What a great mix. I cant wait to put this one in the player and take the next adventure of a lifetime.

Good job. Love it. Love the cover. Love the music. Love the Hensleys.

Add new comment